Berserk!

Sunday, 10 March 2019


My holidays on the Isle of Skye always inspire me. As I edit the final draft of my 4th novel, the seed for my 5th has now already germinated. The characters in the next book will be a heavy metal band, a photographer, a farming family on the remote Faroe island and a Lycanthrope! I have just written the basic story outline as we head out of Scotland. I have high hopes for this story...


Sunday, 07 April 2019


Research...


Tuesday, 09 April 2019


So excited to start work on my next novella , I began
writing it on the work's coach home this evening
With my fourth novella, Pixie-Led, now published and available to buy, I started writing Chapter One of my fifth novella, Berserk!, this evening. I have been musing on this new book for the last month or so but its strange how my story plots only ever truly take shape when I put pen to paper and actually start writing the story itself. After a month of basic note-taking and research, the denouement of my next book came to me like a bolt out of the blue within a few minutes of writing the very first paragraph of it. I have to admit that I am getting pretty excited by this tale, even though it is still in its infancy. I won't go into too much detail at the moment, but the story, whilst still the same as the basic plot I outlined here, has now developed a dark Viking theme too.

Tuesday, 16 April 2019

Storyboarding Chapter One:
I wish I could draw! lol

Wednesday, 17 April 2019

Chapter One progressing nicely...



Wednesday, 18 April 2019

Pushing onward with Chapter One, detailing the characters and their mission:


Friday, 20 April 2019


Continuing work on Chapter One:


Wednesday, 24 April 2019


Storyboarding Chapter Two - the heavy metal band and their photographer arrive on the dismal island...



Thursday, 25 April 2019


Draft One. Chapter One.


Sunday, 28 April 2019


4K+



Wednesday, 01 May 2019


Chapter Two Competed
Story-boarding Chapter Three

Thursday, 02 May 2019


Writing Chapter Three and not sure of how to end it, or what happens in Chapter Four onwards...... This hasn't happened in a long while...


With slight writer's block, I spent the evening typing up my handwritten first draft of Chapter Two of Beserk!


Saturday, 04 May 2019

"No, I will not let you write today."




Monday, 07 May 2019

I struggled a little with how to close Chapter Three of Beserk! But the chapter has come together nicely for me as I actually put pen to paper to write the thing. Here is my story-board pic of the conclusion of the chapter, if you can interpret my child-like sketch. #IWishICouldDraw


Saturday, 11 May 2019

Working on Chapter Four. Really enjoying writing this book :)


Sunday, 12 May 2019



Tuesday, 14 May 2019

Story-boarding Chapter Four:


Thursday, 16 May 2019


Story-boarding Chapter Five:


Friday, 17 May 2019

11k words into the first draft.



Saturday, 18 May 2019

The group are starting to get freaked out in the isolated woodland. No human has walked this land for a thousand years and the dark gods and spirits continue to linger here...


Sunday, 19 May 2019


Researching Wolfsbane.


12k+ Words:





Tuesday, 21 May 2019


Nearly 13k words into the novel and I am stuck :o/


I did manage a little story-boarding for the next chapter though:


Friday, 24 May 2019

Thankfully, my writer's block cleared last night. I am not too sure if the plot details of Chapter Six came during a dream or whether I worked it out in that strange hinterland of thought that can occur when awakening from one dream and slipping back into another. Anyway, the plot outline for Chapter Six is sorted and I just now need to write it. In the meantime, here is another #IWishICouldDraw storyboard for the chapter:


Saturday, 25 May 2019


Out in the garden, writing Chapter Six.


Sunday, 25 May 2019

Chapter Six. Dun 'n' Dusted.


Monday, 27 May 2019

Story-boarding Chapter Seven.


Wednesday, 29 May 2019


Half way through Chapter Seven...


Wednesday, 29 May 2019


Writing with my eldest and quietest cat :)



Thursday, 30 May 2019



Wednesday, 05 June 2019


Story-boarding and writing Chapter Eight:



Thursday, 06 June 2019


Chapter Eight done 'n' dusted:


Saturday, 08 June 2019

Story-boarding Chapter Nine, the penultimate chapter of Berserk!


and researching Viking rune magic:


Tuesday, 11 June 2019


Stuck in the middle of the penultimate chapter of my latest book:


Saturday, 15 June 2019


Story-boarding Chapter 10:




Starting work on Chapter 10:


Sunday, 16 June 2019


Writing the final chapter:


Friday, 21 June 2019

I sat out in the garden this Summer Solstice afternoon to do a bit of writing. By a fluke of timing, the chapter of Berserk! I was working on was set on Summer Solstice and details a Summer Solstice ritual. I love coincidences like this :)




Saturday, 22 June 2019


Well, it looks like I need another two chapters to finish off the first draft of Berserk. This news has surprised me!

Story-boarding Chapter 11

Sunday, 23 June 2019

With the end of the first draft of Berserk! in sight, I have started work on the cover design for the book:


My original photograph of one of my local woods

Work in progress on the book cover for Berserk!

Monday, 25 June 2019


Story-boarding Chapter 12:


Wednesday, 26 June 2019

The first draft of my fifth novella, Berserk!, has now been completed. And I am quietly happy with its mad denouement :)


Sunday, 07 July 2019


It's time for me to get stuck into the second draft of Berserk! I printed out a hard copy of the first draft last night, so now it is time for me plough into those words  and hopefully harvest something pretty damned good from them...



Friday, 12 July 2019


Cracking on with draught 2:


Sunday, 14 July 2019


Continuing work on the second draft:


Friday, 19 July 2019


Plodding on with the second draft of Chapter One of Berserk!


Saturday, 20 July 2019


Determined to make progress with the second draft of Chapter One...



Sunday, 21 July 2019


Here it is, the full cover design for Berserk! (pic contains reference gridlines that will obviously not be on the final printout). This has seriously done my head in today lol.


I have kept the text on the back cover to a minimum for this book to concentrate the eye on the artwork and to keep the design sparse.

Thursday, 25 July 2019


Completing Chapter Two, Draft Two:


Saturday, 27 July 2019


Working on Chapter Three, Draft Two:


Monday, 12 August 2019


Draft 2. Chapter 4.


Monday, 19 August 2019


Draft 2. Chapter 5.